Wing announces 2022 annual award winners

  • Published
  • 445th Airlift Wing Public Affairs

Members and families of the 445th Airlift Wing and local community leaders gathered at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force in Riverside, Ohio, March 11 to recognize the wing’s 2022 annual award winners.

Thirty-seven nominees were recognized at a medallion ceremony prior to the awards banquet and each nominee in attendance was presented a 445th AW medallion by Col. Raymond A. Smith Jr., 445th AW commander.

The banquet kicked off with nominees entering the room as part of the official party. The 445th Airlift Wing Honor Guard posted the Colors and participated in a POW/MIA demonstration. The Air Force Band of Flight’s rock band, Flight One, provided entertainment for the evening.

Airmen, family members and the community partner awards were presented first, and the squadron of the year was revealed at the end. The museum center stage area echoed with sounds of sirens, horns and various noisemakers as units cheered for their nominees.

Annual award honors were presented to:

  • Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Morgan K. Reese, 445th Operations Support Squadron
  • NCO of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Marjorie C. Butcher, 445th Aeromedical Evacuation Squadron
  • Senior NCO of the Year: Master Sgt. Justin R. Hunt, 87th Aerial Port Squadron
  • First Sergeant of the Year: Master Sgt. Eric M. Henry, 445th Aerospace Medicine Squadron
  • Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Anthony J. Busellato, 87th APS
  • Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Robert C. Cost II, 445th OSS
  • Civilian of the Year, Cat I: Mrs. Kristien N. Evans-Gober, 445th AW Financial Management
  • Civilian of the Year, Cat II: Mrs. Shanna King, 445th Force Support Squadron
  • Honor Guard Member of the Year: Staff Sgt. Molly M. Hageman, 445th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron
  • Recruiter of the Year: Tech. Sgt. David G. Morris Jr, 445th AW Recruiting Squadron
  • Spouse of the Year: Heather N. Rowe, spouse of Chief Master Sgt. Robert J. Rowe, 87th APS
  • Community Partner of the Year: Miami Valley Military Affairs Association
  • Squadron of the Year: 87th Aerial Port Squadron