Wing announces 2023 annual award winners

  • Published
  • 445th Airlift Wing Public Affairs

Members and families of the 445th Airlift Wing, and local community leaders gathered at the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force March 9 to recognize the wing’s 2023 annual award nominees and winners.

About 50 Airmen and family members were honored at a medallion ceremony prior to the awards banquet. Col. Matthew Muha, 445th AW deputy commander, presented each nominee in attendance a 445th AW medallion.

The banquet began with nominees entering the room as part of the official party as the Chiefs Group formed a saber arch. The 445th Honor Guard posted the Colors and participated in a POW/MIA table demonstration. The Air Force Band of Flight’s rock band, Flight One, provided entertainment for the evening.

Awards were presented to Airmen, family members and the community partner, and event concluded with the announcement of squadron of the year.

The museum center stage area echoed with sounds of sirens, horns and various noisemakers as units cheered for their nominees.

Annual award honors were presented to:

- Airman of the Year: Staff Sgt. Daniel Schnaars, 87th Aerial Port Squadron

- NCO of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Blake Reynolds, 445th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron

- Senior NCO of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Sarah Katoski, 445th Aeromedical Staging Squadron

- First Sergeant of the Year: Master Sgt. Scott Bowers, 89th Airlift Squadron

- Company Grade Officer of the Year: 1st Lt. Evan Postma, 445th Operation Support Squadron

- Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Nathaniel Copen, 445th Aeromedical Evacuation Squadron

- Civilian of the Year CAT I: Mrs. Ashley Roberts, 445th Force Support Squadron

- Civilian of the Year CAT II: Mrs. Sydney Higginbotham, 445th Airlift Wing Mission Support Group

- Honor Guard Member of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Dustin Seelig, 87 Aerial Port Squadron

- Recruiter of the Year: Master Sgt. Matthew Steffens, 445th Airlift Wing Recruiting Squadron

- Spouse of the Year: Mrs. Megan Besterman, Spouse of Staff Sgt. Jordan Besterman, 445th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron

- Youth of the Year: Miss Adylee Morris, Daughter of Senior Airman Ashli Morris, 87th Aerial Port Squadron

- Community Partner of the Year: Dominos – Enon, Ohio

- Squadron of the Year: 89th Airlift Squadron